Today in gym, we ran again, but this time we were encouraged to run, not just given the option. We were only supposed to complete a mile of running, and I got a time of 7 minutes and 30 seconds. I am proud of my time. Last spring, I got 7 minutes and 47 seconds, and I can't remember what I got last fall. I think I probably got a better mile time yesterday, but I don't really mind that much.
Do you run miles at your school? If so, how often do you run them? Also, how long does it take you?
Tuesday, September 27, 2011
Monday, September 26, 2011
Rough Day
What did the dog say when he sat down on sandpaper?
"Ruff."
That's not what I wanted to write about today, so I'll get to the point.
This morning, I woke up, but I didn't want to. I was very tired and had a mild headache. I went downstairs to eat some cereal, but spilled it all over myself and the couch I was sitting on. I cleaned it up and told me dad about it. Because of the spill, I was wet and a little bit sticky in certain places. I changed into my clothes so I could walk up to my bus stop, but I didn't want to get dressed because once you get dressed in the morning, you have to go to school. At least that's what is seems like to me. And then going to the bus stop makes it even more clear that you need to go to school, no matter what. Luckily for me, today was a half day. I don't know if I would have been able to make it through the entire day semi-happily otherwise. I was tired until lunch. At lunch, it was still more quiet than usual. After lunch, I felt tired again. Then in gym we went to the track to run or walk, depending on what we wanted to do. For some reason, that made me feel very energized. Before they made us go back inside, I had run 7 laps equaling a mile and three fourths. I think they had us running for about fifteen minutes, and I would have loved to run even longer. The running made me feel good. After gym, we had one last period left, and I was tired for that period, too. After that, I got on my bus and went home. I logged onto Two Cans and String, did some posting on the forum, then came here to write this. Putting things in perspective, though, today wasn't that bad. If I had needed to ride the bus to school for elementary school, I would have needed to get up maybe an hour earlier than I do now, just to catch the bus. It would make sense for the children who ride the bus to my old elementary school to be tired, and they would need to go to bed very early to get enough sleep. I enjoy going to bed late and waking up late, but during the school year, I just go to sleep earlier than during the summer, and wake up earlier than I want to. Most of the time, I can deal with that, but people who need to wake up much earlier than I do... live with it. They do what they need to so they can get to school on time. They are used to it. It becomes part of their life. According to my old Spanish teacher, some children in Panama even need to go to school in the middle of the night rather than in the middle of the day, so they are able to get the most use out of their school. I am very glad I don't have to wake up as early as certain people in the morning, or need to go to school in the middle of the night, and I am glad I am aware of the people waking up at different times than I do. I just want to say thank you to them because they put my view in perspective.
"Ruff."
That's not what I wanted to write about today, so I'll get to the point.
This morning, I woke up, but I didn't want to. I was very tired and had a mild headache. I went downstairs to eat some cereal, but spilled it all over myself and the couch I was sitting on. I cleaned it up and told me dad about it. Because of the spill, I was wet and a little bit sticky in certain places. I changed into my clothes so I could walk up to my bus stop, but I didn't want to get dressed because once you get dressed in the morning, you have to go to school. At least that's what is seems like to me. And then going to the bus stop makes it even more clear that you need to go to school, no matter what. Luckily for me, today was a half day. I don't know if I would have been able to make it through the entire day semi-happily otherwise. I was tired until lunch. At lunch, it was still more quiet than usual. After lunch, I felt tired again. Then in gym we went to the track to run or walk, depending on what we wanted to do. For some reason, that made me feel very energized. Before they made us go back inside, I had run 7 laps equaling a mile and three fourths. I think they had us running for about fifteen minutes, and I would have loved to run even longer. The running made me feel good. After gym, we had one last period left, and I was tired for that period, too. After that, I got on my bus and went home. I logged onto Two Cans and String, did some posting on the forum, then came here to write this. Putting things in perspective, though, today wasn't that bad. If I had needed to ride the bus to school for elementary school, I would have needed to get up maybe an hour earlier than I do now, just to catch the bus. It would make sense for the children who ride the bus to my old elementary school to be tired, and they would need to go to bed very early to get enough sleep. I enjoy going to bed late and waking up late, but during the school year, I just go to sleep earlier than during the summer, and wake up earlier than I want to. Most of the time, I can deal with that, but people who need to wake up much earlier than I do... live with it. They do what they need to so they can get to school on time. They are used to it. It becomes part of their life. According to my old Spanish teacher, some children in Panama even need to go to school in the middle of the night rather than in the middle of the day, so they are able to get the most use out of their school. I am very glad I don't have to wake up as early as certain people in the morning, or need to go to school in the middle of the night, and I am glad I am aware of the people waking up at different times than I do. I just want to say thank you to them because they put my view in perspective.
Saturday, September 24, 2011
Orchestra Car Wash
I washed about ten to fifteen cars today. I volunteered to do this because the wonderful school orchestra I am in is raising money to do awesome things and to buy awesome things, so I thought it would be good to help out. I enjoyed washing the cars. Towards the end, all I did was scour the hubcaps. Those were definitely filthy. The one thing I refused to do, though, was stand on the corner of the street and yell, "ORCHESTRA CAR WASH! IT'S FREE! DONATIONS ACCEPTED!" That's just not something I wanted to do. It seemed a little forceful. I was happy scouring the hubcaps quietly. I hope the orchestra I am a part of earned a lot of money today. If we didn't, though, that would be fine as well. At least some people did some work for free today.
Sunday, September 18, 2011
Back to School Tomorrow
Today, I spent most of my day in my bedroom on my laptop. I did go to my soccer game and take a shower, though, so I didn't sit around for the entire day. This is mostly what I did on my unscheduled days during the summer. I still have to get used to being in the school year, I guess. It's on days like these I wonder what everyone else does to entertain themselves.
What do you do on the weekends? What did you do during summer break? Do you like being back in school?
What do you do on the weekends? What did you do during summer break? Do you like being back in school?
Saturday, September 17, 2011
Puppy Sized Elephants
I love this picture so much. It's so cute, and it is the dream of one of my YouTube idols, John Green. Puppy sized elephants would definitely make the world a better place.
What do you think of puppy sized elephants? What would you like to have puppy sized?
What do you think of puppy sized elephants? What would you like to have puppy sized?
The Weekend Has Arrived
Ahhhh... Nice, sweet rest after school school school for a week. I like school, but the weekends always feel like a deserved break from the business of it all. Right now I'm sitting in bed, listening to Revolver, and surfing the web. I can't even be bothered to go to my brother's baseball game. You could call me lazy, but you know you wish you could do this, too. I know I'll get up soon to do something, but I'm not sure what that will be. I love having an unstructured day. Forming it as I go along, that's the way to be. Unfortunately, some teachers don't understand the necessity of the weekends for refueling, so I have some homework. Sigh. I guess I'll work on that today at some point. Definitely not now, though.
Do you have weekend homework very often? Do you wish you didn't have it? Do you wish you had more? Do you wish you had a longer weekend? Answer in the comments!
Do you have weekend homework very often? Do you wish you didn't have it? Do you wish you had more? Do you wish you had a longer weekend? Answer in the comments!
Monday, September 5, 2011
Labor Day School Stress
Happy Labor Day, everyone. My first day of school is tomorrow, but I'm sure some people have already started. I would not say that I am consciously stressed out about school starting tomorrow, but I would say that I might be unconsciously stressed out about it. Last night, I dreamed that they had completely changed the layout of my school over the summer and that I was having trouble finding my class. I don't even remember ever finding my class. It was a horrible dream, but I know for sure that won't happen to me this year. I went through that trouble last year. A reason some people other than myself might be stressed is because of seat auditions in the band or orchestra. I am in the orchestra, and I have been working on the audition pieces all summer. Some people have not gotten the pieces yet, so they have not been able to practice for the audition at all. I don't know if those people are stressed out, but if I were in their shoes, my dream would have been about the seat auditions last night. Also, the elementary school I used to go to had a summer reading program in which third, fourth, and fifth graders had to read five chapter books and do a project about them to get prizes or something nearly useless. I always read the five chapter books and did the project, but I remember cutting it very close to the deadline with the project. Today, my brother and my mom had a conversation/argument about his summer reading. He has almost read four books, the second through fifth Percy Jackson books. As many people know, those are very long books, and he doesn't want to read one last short book. Lucky for him, the projects aren't due on the first day of school, so he has some time.
I hope everyone is having a wonderful Labor Day, and good luck to everyone starting school tomorrow!
I hope everyone is having a wonderful Labor Day, and good luck to everyone starting school tomorrow!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

